Are Bananas Gluten-Free?

You might ask, do bananas have gluten? Rest assured, bananas are 100% gluten-free. Bananas contain no gluten and are safe (in their natural form) for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance. If you’re having trouble eating bananas, it may be because of certain proteins found in bananas. Next, we will discuss in detail do bananas have gluten and which fruits have gluten.

How Long Does It Take to Get Gluten Out of Your System?

After you stop eating gluten-containing foods, your symptoms may improve within a few days. Your small intestine should heal completely within 3 to 6 months. Your fluff will come back to work. If you are older, it may take your body 2 years to heal.

Are Bananas Gluten-Free

Are bananas gluten-free? Yes, bananas are gluten-free in their natural state. Banana protein can irritate those allergic to latex. Bananas can be used as a substitute for many gluten-free recipes.

Related Post: Are Black Beans Gluten-Free?

What Allergens Do Bananas Have?


Although bananas are gluten-free, they are not free of all allergens. If you are allergic to latex, you may also be allergic to the banana protein, so avoid bananas if you are allergic to latex. Also, some people with IBS may find they react to certain types of fruit, including bananas, so if you have IBS, it’s best to eat them in moderation.

Yes, it is very unlikely that someone with celiac disease or gluten intolerance will react to bananas. This is because bananas are a high-fiber food, and some people with this condition may not digest fiber well. If you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance and are having problems after eating bananas, try avoiding them for a while to see if your symptoms improve. If they do, you may just need to limit your intake of high-fiber foods.

The first problem with bananas is the protein they contain, lectins. Lectins are present in many nightshades and can stimulate autoimmune disease patients. Since lectin is similar to gluten, it can cause an autoimmune reaction because the body can confuse lectin and gluten. Some studies even concluded that what was suspected of being a gluten intolerance was actually a lectin allergy.

Bananas also contain a protein called chitinase. Chitinase requires specific enzymes to break down. If the chitinase protein cannot be broken down once ingested, it can trigger an autoimmune reaction and possibly cause several gastrointestinal upsets and abdominal pain. As is often seen in those with untreated celiac disease, an essential enzyme needed to break down chitinase is missing.

Other symptoms of inability to break down chitinase include, but are not limited to:

  • diarrhea
  • nausea
  • Vomit
  • abdominal cramps and pain
  • bloating
  • Excess gas
  • constipate
  • flushing of the skin
  • Headache
  • palpitations
  • Oral numbness and tingling

Bananas As a Gluten-Free Substitution

Did you know you can use bananas as the main ingredient in pancakes? A very popular pancake recipe is simply mashed banana, egg, and a little pinch of cinnamon mixed together. Low carb, gluten-free, and SO good for you! You can add a little almond flour for binding if you find the mixture too runny. A quick fry in some grass-fed butter and a little syrup, and you have a wonderful substitution for pancakes!

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

We love a big warm loaf of banana bread, especially ones with chocolate chips! We wanted to share one of our favorite gluten-free recipes with you. Jump to our gluten-free banana bread recipe to discover one of the best banana bread recipes! This is a favorite of the gluten-free and gluten eaters in our house!

  • Are bananas Good For Celiac Disease?

Bananas had the best characteristics to counterbalance purging diarrhea which was the typical clinical presentation of celiac disease at that time.

What Foods Have Gluten In Them

varities foods
Healthy food rich in carbohydrates, top view
  • Potatoes

Raw potatoes do not contain any gluten, making them ideal for celiacs and anyone with special dietary needs. What you need to pay attention to is how they are prepared, as any extra ingredients used may contain gluten, giving them a “back door”.

  • Peanut butter

In their natural form, both peanuts and peanut butter are gluten-free. Many store-bought brands of peanut butter are also gluten-free, with gluten-containing peanut butter tending to be the exception rather than the rule.

  • Oatmeal

Yes, pure, uncontaminated oats are technically gluten-free. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration considers it a gluten-free grain under its gluten-free labeling regulations, and only requires packaged products that contain oats to contain less than 20 parts per million of total gluten.

  • Eggs

Yes, eggs are naturally gluten-free.

However, eggs are often at high risk for cross-contact due to the ways they are prepared.

  • Chocolate

While pure chocolate is considered gluten-free, many chocolate products contain additional ingredients, such as emulsifiers and flavorings, that can improve the taste and texture of the final product. Some of these ingredients may contain gluten.

  • Bacon

Bacon made with only pork belly, pepper, salt, sugar, spices, smoke, and nitrates: gluten-free product. However, some companies cannot make any guarantees because of the potential for cross-contamination between equipment or processing facilities shared with gluten products.

Final Thoughts

In conclusion, are bananas gluten-free? Yes, bananas are gluten free. However, people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance are less likely to have a reaction to it. Also, bananas can be a problem for people with conditions like IBS, so if you have IBS, it’s best to eat them in moderation. If you’re allergic to gluten and find bananas upset your stomach, your best bet is to cut them out of your diet and see if your situation improves.