Are Bugles gluten-free? In today’s world of allergies, many people have gluten intolerance and need to be cautious when choosing their snacks. What category do bugs fit into? Are they gluten free?

Don’t worry if you love Bugles but cannot consume gluten. This article will examine the ingredients in various Bugles corn chip varieties as well as some wholesome, gluten-free Bugles substitutes. Let’s dig in!

What Are Bugles?

General Mills produces a particular kind of corn chip called a “Bugle.” Although most people refer to them as “finger hat”-shaped, this type of snack is primarily made of corn and has a bugle horn shape. Over the years, they have offered a number of flavors, but their Original is by far the most well-liked.

According to Wikipedia, they were first offered as a snack by the General Mills company in 1966 as they were testing a variety of snack options, including tub-shaped Whistles, pizza-themed Pizza Spins, and flower-shaped Daisies. All of these snacks—except for Bugles—have since been withdrawn from the market.

What Materials Are Used To Make Bugles?

In essence, bugles are fried puffs of corn that are similar to corn chips. The ingredients for Original Bugles, Bold BBQ Bugles, and Nacho Cheese Bugles are listed below.

Ingredients In Original Bugles

“Degermed yellow corn meal, coconut oil or palm kernel oil, sugar, salt, and baking soda. freshness preserved by BHT.

Possibly contains milk and wheat.”

Ingredients In Bold Bbq Bugles

“sugar, coconut or palm kernel oil, degermed yellow corn meal contains 2% or less of: salt, fructose, spices, distilled monoglycerides, baking soda, molasses, brown sugar, paprika added for color, tomato powder, maltodextrin, onion powder, sunflower oil, mustard powder (dried vinegar, mustard seed, salt, turmeric), natural smoke flavor. freshness preserved by BHT.

ingredients that could include wheat and milk.”

Ingredients In Nacho Cheese Bugles

“Maltodextrin, sugar, degermed yellow corn meal, coconut oil, and/or palm kernel oil contains 2 % or less of: salt, monoglycerides, baking soda, dried buttermilk, monosodium glutamate, dried whey, reduced lactose whey, dried onion, tomato powder, natural and artificial flavor, dried garlic, citric acid, dried cheddar cheese (cultured milk, salt, enzymes), spice, paprika extract, disodium inosinate, disodium guanylate, dried enzyme modified cheddar cheese (milk, cultures, salt, enzymes), disodium phosphate, artificial color (red 40 lake, yellow 6, yellow 5). freshness preserved by BHT.

Has milk in it; potential wheat ingredients.”

Which Flavors Are Available In Bugles?

There are numerous flavors and varieties of pickles. According to the brand’s website, the current Bugles lineup is listed below.

  • Original
  • Caramel
  • Chocolate
  • Nacho Cheese
  • Ranch
  • Bold BBQ
  • Hot Buffalo
  • Churro
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter

Are Bugles Gluten-free?

This question has a yes and a no response. This is because the ingredients used to make Bugles determine whether they are gluten-free or not. For example, the original variety of Degermed yellow cornmeal, coconut oil or palm kernel oil, sugar, salt, and baking soda are the ingredients used to make bugles. 

If the ingredients on your bottle of Bugles are listed above, you can be sure it doesn’t contain gluten. However, note that some varieties of Wheat and milk both have gluten in them, as do bugles. 

Thus, it’s important to go through the ingredients list of your Check the Bugles packet to see if it contains gluten.

How Can I Check Bugles Labels For Gluten?

Look For The “gluten Free” Label

The label “gluten free” may be present on the front of the packet on the majority of Bugles packages. You must think of alternative strategies to avoid gluten because not all packets still include this label.

It’s important to be aware of the common ingredients containing gluten because it’s also not explicitly stated on the packet. Here is a list of typical foods high in gluten as an illustration.

  • Wheat,
  • Rye,
  • Barley,
  • Oats,
  • Brewer’s yeast,
  • Wheat-based products,
  • Triticale, etc.

It contains gluten if the Bugles packet lists any of these components or the food; otherwise, it’s gluten-free.

Go Through The Ingredients List

Consider reading the list of ingredients, which is typically located on the back of the packet rather than the “gluten free” label. 

As previously mentioned, the fundamental components of Bugles are degermed yellow cornmeal, coconut oil and/or palm kernel oil, sugar, salt, and baking soda. 

While none of these contain gluten, some bugle varieties may do so if they also contain milk and wheat. So, keep a close eye on the list of ingredients. 

These two techniques will be useful to identify the gluten-free bugle given its health advantages. 

Do Bugles Contain Any Toxic Chemicals?

The preservative BHT, which is present in most flavors of Bugles and has been demonstrated to have antioxidant properties in small doses, is also present. There may be a chance of cancer, according to some studies.

Are Cockles A Salty Treat?

One serving of Bugles Original flavor has 320 mg of sodium, which is 14% of the daily recommended limit.

Is Eating Bugles Healthy?

Yes, you can eat Bugles as a ready-to-eat snack without worrying too much about your health. They are among the healthiest chips available. The healthiest of all of their flavors is their original.

The standard size of a bugle pouch is 7.5 ounces, and the following are its nutritional values:

  • Saturated fat: 58%
  • Trans fat: 0%
  • Cholesterol: 0%
  • Sodium: 19%
  • Total carbohydrates: 9%
  • Dietary fibres: 3%
  • Total sugars: 0%

Because they contain less oil, Bugles make a fantastic party snack that you can eat without giving it much thought. 


Since gluten is not a component of Bugles corn snacks, they may technically be considered gluten-free. The possibility of cross-contamination prevents them from being truly gluten-free, though. Therefore, caution is advised, especially if you have Celiac disease or a severe gluten allergy. Risk versus reward must be weighed, and while for some it may be worthwhile, for others the risks may be too great. Always conduct thorough research before deciding what to buy, both for Bugles and other snacks. Be safe, my friends, and eat well.

Read more about: Are Butterfingers Gluten Free? Are Jelly Beans Gluten-Free?