Dippin' Dots

One of those nostalgic foods that never seems to age is Dippin’ Dots. If you were a child in the 1990s like I was, you probably begged your mother for Dippin’ Dots whenever you saw a pop-up vendor. Our children are still doing it today, years later. Now that we’ve established that Dippin’ Dots is frozen ice cream, we wonder if it’s gluten-free.

There is no gluten in Dippin’ Dots, it’s gluten-free. But some of the ice cream add-ons might contain gluten. Furthermore, there is a high chance of cross-contamination. In either case, Dippin’ Dots are not a healthy snack because they are loaded with sugar. Rebel Cookie Dough Ice Cream, Nick’s Strawberry Ice Cream, and Coconut Bliss Infinite Coconut are the best alternatives that are also gluten-free and healthier.

This article will examine some Dippin’ Dot flavors’ nutritional content and ingredients as well as some healthy substitutions. Let’s dig in!

What Is Dippin’ Dots?

Dippin’ Dots are tiny beads of ice cream, yogurt, sherbert, and flavored ice that are popular among kids. Microbiologist Curt Jones invented it in 1988. The well-known ice cream Dippin’ Dots was created by him using the knowledge he gained from studying cryogenic technology.

However, Dippin’ Dots does not appear to be typical ice cream. -320 degrees Fahrenheit is the precise temperature at which ice cream is flash-frozen into tiny beads.

Pre-packaged Dippin’ Dots is sent all over the world for consumption. Although it is typically found at stadium events, malls, parks, festivals, and movie theaters, you can also order it online and have it delivered right to your door. The ice cream is produced by the company in a facility that also processes milk, tree nuts, wheat, soy, and peanut products.

Although they pledge to make every effort to keep the ice cream separate, there is a chance of cross-contamination inside the facility.  If you have any dietary restrictions, we strongly advise checking product labels and websites for any potential allergen risks.

What Are The Components In Dippin Dots?

Milk, cream, sugar, corn syrup solids, cocoa processed with alkali, salt, less than 5% of (guar gum, carrageenan, locust bean gum, dextrose).

Do Any Dippin Dots Contain Gluten?

All year long (excluding Passover), our flavored ice Dippin’ Dots are certified Pareve. … Some of our products have a peanut oil, peanut, or tree nut flavor or contain one of those ingredients. In addition, our ice cream does not contain gluten, although it may be present in certain add-ins.

Is Gluten-free Dippin Dots Brownie Batter Available?

Dippin Dots with “INCLUSIONS” DO CONTAIN GLUTEN ‐ they include Cookie dough, Cool Mint Crunch, Cookies & Cream, and brownie batter.

Dippin' Dots

What Is The Health Risk Of Dippin’ Dots?

Dippin’ Dots is not a healthy option for ice cream since the majority of its calories come from sugar. Numerous health risks can result from consuming large amounts of sugar. Your risk of developing diabetes, tooth decay, and many other health issues can rise as a result of consuming too much sugar. When choosing high-sugar foods, it is best to choose naturally sweetened foods like fruits and vegetables.

Additionally, the chocolate ice cream Dippin’ Dots has nearly 20 grams of simple carbohydrates. Sugars known as simple carbohydrates easily break down for the body to use as fuel.

Simple carbohydrates are absent from nutrient-rich foods and do not provide long-lasting energy. Choosing ice cream made from natural ingredients and devoid of added sugar is the better option.  There are a number of healthier ingredients and healthy fats available as alternatives.

Dippin Dots Gluten Free Menu

Ice Cream

  •  banana split
  • bubble gum
  • chocolate
  • cotton candy
  • horchata
  • java delight
  • mint chocolate
  • peanut butter chip
  • toot beer float
  • strawberry
  • tropical tie dye

No Sugar Added Ice Cream

  •  low fat fudge
  • reduced fat vanilla


  •  strawberry cheesecake


  •  lemon lime
  • orange
  • raspberry

Flavored Ice

  •  cherryberry
  • liberty
  • pink lemonade
  • rainbow
  • watermelon

Can You Safely Eat Dippin Dots?

The liquid nitrogen will completely dissipate from the product by the time it ships from the Dippin’ Dots manufacturing facility and the product will be at a temperature safe for consumption when it is served to the customer.

Is Dippin’ Dots Keto-friendly?

No, Dippin’ Dots is not suitable for people who follow a ketogenic diet. Dippin’ Dots Vanilla Ice Cream has 15 grams of carbohydrates in a single serving. As a result, this product won’t aid in your maintenance of ketosis. Try Rebel ice cream products if you want a keto-friendly ice cream alternative.

Do Dippin’ Dots Include Liquid Nitrogen?

No, according to the Dippin’ Dots website. The ice cream is never made at the location where it is sold; instead, it is made at the manufacturing facility. The tiny bead of ice cream is frozen using liquid nitrogen, but all of the liquid nitrogen evaporates before the finished product leaves the factory. The Dippin’ Dots you consume do not, however, contain liquid nitrogen.

Which Dippin Dots Don’t Contain Dairy?

Check out all of Dippin’ Dots’ vegan flavors here: Rainbow Ice, Black Ice, Sour Blue Razz, Orange Ice, Blue Raspberry Ice, Lemon Ice, Lime Ice, Strawberry Ice, Liberty Ice (red, white, and blue—perfect for Fourth of July celebrations), Strawberry Sorbet, and Mango-Pineapple Sorbet.

Are The Cotton Candy Mini Melts Gluten-free?

Ingredients include milk, sweet cream, sugar, skim milk powder, glucose syrup, and 1,8% cacao. mono-and diglycerides of fatty acids, stabilizers: guar gum, xanthan gum, konjak gum, dextrose, vanilla flavouring, natural flavouring. The product may contain gluten. gluten.


In the end, it is perfectly acceptable to occasionally indulge in Dippin’ Dots, but if you consume ice cream frequently, it is frequently preferable to pick a healthy alternative. We advise choosing nutrient-dense foods that are best for both your general health and your weight.

Other ice cream options are readily available, offering a wide range of nutritional advantages and catering to the requirements of all diets. Try one of the aforementioned options; I don’t believe you’ll be sorry.

Take extra care to avoid cross-contamination if you avoid gluten in your diet or have celiac disease. You should be able to eat Dippin’ Dots ice cream without any additional toppings because it is gluten-free.

Read more about: Are Chickpeas Gluten Free? Are Goldfish Gluten-Free?