Are goldfish gluten-free?

Goldfish are a well-liked cheesy cracker snack made by Pepperdine Farm. Goldfish comes in a wide variety of flavors, including Goldfish Pizza, Goldfish Colors, and even Goldfish Pretzels.

We chose to respond to the query because many people are curious about their gluten-free snack choices when packing lunches or going to the store. Are Goldfish gluten-free? Here is the answer.

What Are Goldfish?

The Pepperidge Farm brand makes crackers with a cheese flavor called Goldfish. These crackers are loved by both children and adults due to their distinctive fish shape with smiles on it.

More recently, colors have also been added to the list of flavors for goldish. The company boasts that its Goldfish crackers contain no artificial flavors or preservatives and only natural plant-based colors, not synthetic ones.

The most popular way to eat goldish is as a snack, but they can also be used as a topping on soup, in the homemade trail or snack mixes, or in Chex mix.

What Is The Composition Of Goldfish?

The ingredients in Goldfish crackers, which are baked and have a cheese flavor, can vary slightly depending on which flavor they are available in.

Here are the ingredients for their well-known Original Goldfish, Goldfish Colors, and Goldfish Pizza, as listed on the Pepperdine Farm website.

Ingredients In Original Goldfish

“Contains 2% or less of the following ingredients: salt, canola, sunflower, and/or soybean oils, enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), and thiamine mononitrate. nonfat milk, yeast, sugar, baking soda, monocalcium phosphate, paprika, spices, celery, and onion powder.

Ingredients In Goldfish Colors

“Made with a smile, enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, and folic acid), cheddar cheese ([cultured milk, salt, enzymes], annatto), vegetable oils (canola, sunflower, and/or soybean), salt, and 2% or less of the following: yeast, sugar, autolyzed yeast extract, spices, celery, onion powder, monocalcium phosphate, baking soda, colors (beet, huito and watermelon juice concentrate; paprika and turmeric extracts).”

Ingredients In Goldfish Pizza Crackers

“Made with a smile and enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), vegetable oils (canola, sunflower, and/or soybean), tomato paste, cheddar cheese (cultured milk, salt, enzymes), contains 2% or less of salt, yeast, baking soda, spices, celery, paprika extract (color), monocalcium phosphate, onion powder.”

What Is Gluten?

The “glue” that keeps wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together and keeps them from crumbling is a protein called gluten that is present in most wheat products. 

Since gluten is a naturally occurring substance, the grain cannot be stripped of it. There is no way to make a food gluten-free if the grain already contains gluten.

Are Goldfish Gluten-free?

All Goldfish crackers contain enriched wheat flour, so they are not gluten-free. The words “contains wheat” are noted next to the ingredients list on every variety of Goldfish, making it easier to identify the presence of gluten in the food.

You may want to substitute another cheese-flavored, gluten-free cracker brand for this one.

What Ingredients In Goldfish Contain Gluten?

As you can probably tell from the ingredients list, gluten is present in the ingredients of Goldfish crackers. All varieties of Goldfish crackers contain wheat as a primary ingredient. None of these products, whether they are the Flavor Blast version of the original Goldfish crackers or the sweet cookie Goldfish, are appropriate for a gluten-free diet.

Wheat is one of the most important—and difficult—foods to avoid when eating a gluten-free diet.). Rye, barley, and oats (unless they are gluten-free oats) are other cereal grains to stay away from.


Goldfish Without Gluten Are They Available?

Goldfish from Pepperidge Farm are not gluten-free, which is a bummer. It is extremely frustrating that they don’t seem to have any immediate plans to develop a gluten-free substitute. To try instead, there are many options available.

Gluten-free Alternatives Of Goldfish

There are plenty of suggestions you might like to buy if you’re looking for that Goldfish cracker crunch, even though they may not be in the shape of a fish. You could also attempt to create your own. After examining commercially available gluten-free Goldfish crackers, we’ll go over a recipe for homemade versions.


One of the best gluten-free product lines out there, Schar, makes crackers with a Goldfish theme. Although they don’t have a wide variety of flavors, they taste very similar. In addition to being gluten-free, these delectable treats are also preservative-free, vegan, vegetarian, lactose-free, wheat-free, egg-free, and milk-free.

They are delicious on their own as a snack or even with cheese, and they are sprinkled with sea salt.


Nairn might be your best option if you’re looking for a brand of snack crackers that comes in a variety of flavors. They have a large selection of gluten-free crackers and cereal, and their Snackers line is very similar to Goldfish crackers. These snacks are available in the following tastes:

  • Cheese Snackers
  • Smoked Paprika Snackers
  • Sea Salt and Balsamic Vinegar Snackers

Even though they are made with gluten-free oats, many people who are intolerant to gluten also experience issues with GF oats (I know I do!), so if you’re one of those people – it may be best to avoid this brand.

How To Make Homemade Gluten-free Goldfish?

Amazing Gluten-Free GoldfishRecipe from Fearless Dining The following ingredients are required to make these.

  • 1 cup of gluten-free flour blend
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 8oz shredded cheddar cheese
  • 4 tablespoons of cold butter

Simply carry out the subsequent steps to prepare and bake this snack in under 30 minutes.

  1. Preheat oven 350F
  2. Place all of the ingredients into a food processor and pulse until well combined
  3. Remove the now dough-like ball and place it onto parchment paper
  4. Roll out the dough to a thickness of approximately 1/4 inch (it can be a little thinner). Use a cookie cutter (even a goldfish shape) to press into the dough, to make your crackers
  5. Spread them out onto the parchment paper until all the dough is gone
  6. If you have any leftover dough after filling your parchment paper, wrap it in cling film and keep it in the refrigerator until the first batch is complete
  7. Sprinkle the cookie-cutter shapes with salt
  8. Put the paper on a cookie sheet. Bake for around 8-10 minutes
  9. Repeat the process with the leftover dough after allowing it to cool.

If you want to make your children feel included at lunchtime, this recipe is ideal for recreating Goldfish crackers.


I hope this piece has aided in providing some clarification. Are gluten-free Goldfish crackers available? and provide you with more gluten-free Goldfish cracker choices. Making your own gluten-free Goldfish crackers is the best way to get the most authentic version available, though there may not be any exact substitutes. Nevertheless, we can only hope that they’ll introduce a gluten-free version in the future.

Don’t let the fact that this brand of cheese crackers isn’t gluten-free deter you if you like Goldfish crackers or have a family member who does. There are numerous other brands of gluten-free cheese crackers available. You might even discover a brand you love more now!

Read more about: Are Chia Seeds Gluten-Free? Are Bananas Gluten-Free? Do Bananas Have Gluten?